Book Cover shows Gilles Barbier's art installation Nursing Home, from 2002. With title and authors name above it.Recently I reviewed the book Death, Disability and the Superhero: the silver age and beyond, by José Alaniz, from University Press of Mississippi.

In short, I would say it’s a great idea and a timely study, but the execution of the work disappointed me somewhat. What is fantastic though is that this subject is being treated to scholarly attention, is supported by a reputable press, and results in quality publications. Even though I disagree with Alaniz, frequently, I am glad that there are good scholars and authors working in my field with whom I can have a dialogue. I found much in the later chapters of this work to challenge my thinking on comic book representations of death. What challenges us, makes our work better.

You can read the review in Disability and Society, from Taylor and Francis. If you follow the link from this blog you won’t have to pay to access this page in the journal. If you read the book or the review, come back here and tell us what you think.

Royalty-free clipart picture of a caucasian male super hero flying with one arm forward, on a white background by Rosie Piter, COLLC0023. This image is protected by copyright law and may not be used without a license. No free use allowed.
Previous Post
Royalty-free clipart picture of a caucasian male super hero flying with one arm forward, on a white background by Rosie Piter, COLLC0023. This image is protected by copyright law and may not be used without a license. No free use allowed.
Next Post